Have a reluctant reader? Try this: Act it out!

DSCF6707 copy

My son is 3 and he can read.

I read to him all the time, but I want him to practice as well. He used to be very reluctant and now he just reads on his own.

This is one “trick” (Hmm, I wouldn’t call it a trick, because it is so much fun. Technique?) that I used in order to give him an incentive to keep reading..

He loves the book “Harry the Dirty Dog”, by Gene Zion. Before I read it to him, I said, “Hey Paddy, wanna try something new this time?!” and my enthusiasm triggered an “OK SURE!!!!!”

I said, “How about, I read this book to you and you pretend to be Harry and do everything Harry does in the book…Does that sound like fun? You have to listen and pay attention though. ”

And Paddy was sooo excited to act like a dog. hahaha.

And I read to him, stopping at times to let him act out the scenes, rolling over, barking, digging…

and after the book was done, I said, “Ok, can I try it now?” He looked at me like “WHAAH?!”

The idea that Mama was going to be silly and roll around like a dog was the best incentive for him to grab that book and read it all himself.

So there you go! Another fun game you can play with your child with no messy paint, nothing to build, nothing to buy, just using those wonderful books you have in your house!!!

 

Have fun with your little readers!!! ❤

Leave a comment